Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Omicron: FG To Ban Flights From UK,Canada,Saudi Arabia.

0 214

The Federal Government has indicated plans to restrict airlines from Canada,United Kingdom and Saudi Arabia into Nigeria from Tuesday, Dec. 14.

Minister of Aviation, Hadi Sirika, announced the decision on Sunday in Lagos and explained that it was to reciprocate restricted flights from Nigeria into those countries over the new COVID-19 variant, Omicron.

According to Serika, President Muhammadu Buhari’s administration would also place the United Kingdom, Canada and Saudi Arabia on a red list over the outbreak and spread of the Omicron variant.

He added that if those countries placed Nigeria on a red list, they lacked a moral right to have their airlines fly into Nigeria on commercial operations.

“There is also the case of Saudi Arabia that put Nigeria on the ban list. On Sunday, I participated in a meeting with the COVID-19 task force.

“We have given our input that it is not acceptable by us and we recommended that those Canada, the UK, Saudi Arabia and Argentina also be put on the red list.

“As they did to us, if they do not allow our citizens into their countries; who are they coming, as airlines, to pick from our country?

“They are not supposed to come in. I am very sure in the next three days; Monday or Tuesday, all those countries will be put on the red list of COVID-19,’’ the minister said.

The minister who insisted that airlines of the affected countries remained banned and the countries placed on Nigeria’s red list,
apologised to Nigerians intending to travel to those countries,saying that the decision of the Federal Government was in the interest of the country.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.