Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

TETfund Inaugurates Centres Of Excellence As 6 Varsities Gets 12 Billion Naira Grant.

0 103

12 Nigerian universities have been enlisted by the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFUND) to spearhead research and development programmes that would contribute to national growth. Presenting allocation letters and guidelines to vice chancellors of the beneficiary universities at a ceremony in Abuja, Executive Secretary of TETFund, Prof Suleiman Bogoro, said the the sum of 1 billion naira was approved by the Federal Government as take off grant for each of the universities. He said one among several reasons for establishing the centres is to support strategic oriented research and expertise with potential industrial applications. Track up The TETfund boss further highlighted the terms of agreement as captured in the contract for the beneficiary institution’s which is expected to be executed within a period of 5 years. Track up The institutions are: University of Abuja, University of Benin, University of Ibadan; University of Maiduguri, Bayero University, Kano, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Akwa; University of Uyo; Micheal Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike; Others are University of Jos; University of Lagos ; Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University and Uthman Danfodio University, Sokoto. It is expected that the cenres are will support national and global competitive research and development in strategic and applied sciences, including medicine, with the aim of generating innovations.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.